Food Journeys

Will travel for food – even if it's just around the block

Vegan Lime and Coconut “Ice Cream”

If you read my blog, you will know the woes of being lactose intolerant. It normally doesn’t bother me but this year has been a doozy. It’s particularily hard right now as its such a hot hot HOT summer and I miss the cold velvety taste and texture of ice cream. I have tried many refreshing sorbets and some pretty good dairy free ice cream. But I always find them too sweet for me. There are many great recipes out there that I have to try, but I tried this one out first.  Lime, coconut? Yes please! What a great combo – it’s summer in a cold bowl. I mean come on, there’s a song about it. “You put the lime in that coconut and drink it all up.” I actually did. I couldn’t wait for it to freeze so I put some in a glass and gulped it. I admit that was a pretty gross thing to do as it was really thick. But it was so tasty! I froze the batch but did save a small amount for our smoothies the next day. How were the smoothies you ask? Ahhhhhhh…gooooooooood…

The recipe I used is from Natalie at Appetite Affliction but instead of vanilla, I flavoured it with lime juice, lime rind and unsweetened shredded coconut. I think next time I make a coconut ice cream, I’ll the cashews and opt for something else or leave it out entirely. I’ll let you know how it goes!

On a side note, I had some dairy ice cream. I couldn’t help it! Rocky Point Ice Cream came to work in their mobile ice cream parlour. I had the mixed berry sorbet and the salted caramel ice cream. Both were so good. But alas…my dairy issue made it just a little less sunny. Was it worth it? Yes. No? Yes! Maybe…I don’t know. It was so good. But I’ll continue stay off dairy for a long time. No more “let’s taste this to see if I can eat cheese again.” Lesson learned. But here’s a delicious picture!

IMG_6342

Ok. Back to the vegan ice cream.

Ingredients

2 cups of coconut milk
1.5 cups raw cashews (soak them in water or the coconut milk first to soften them up especially if you don’t have a high speed blender)
1/4 – 1/2 cup of agave syrup
1/2 – 1 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut
Juice of 2 limes
Rind of the 2 limes

Directions

1.  Prepare a loaf tin with parchment paper.

2.  Blend the coconut milk, cashews, lime juice, and agave syrup in your food process or blender. Pour into a large bowl.

3.  Fold in the lime rind and coconut.

FullSizeRender 14

4.  Mix and pour into the prepared pan. Woohoo! Look at the spatula spin!

FullSizeRender 5    FullSizeRender 2

5.  Freeze.

Enjoy it as a frozen treat or add it into a smoothie.

Leave a Reply

@The_WeekendCook

Exploring food, one dish at a time

PIZZERIA SPACCANAPOLI - Vancouver Port Moody

PIZZERIA SPACCANAPOLI, Vancouver- Our Wood Oven is landed directly from Naples, as it is our whole family! Come and try our pizza, we're waiting for you!

7piliers

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Happy Healthy Tash

Healthy Food and Lifestyle Blog

Emmy's Wellness

Vegan and GF recipes

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Travelling with Lyn

My experiences in Italy and the world

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

Something Clean Something Green

One young man's adventure in cooking clean and green. New recipes every Sunday! Winner of 'Best Food & Drink Blog' - North East Blogger Awards 2015

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

Being Boyle

News & Brews

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

Yummy Vitality

Where health is wealth, and compassion is always in fashion.

FishinFoodie

All things edible (and mostly gluten free)

@The_WeekendCook

Exploring food, one dish at a time

PIZZERIA SPACCANAPOLI - Vancouver Port Moody

PIZZERIA SPACCANAPOLI, Vancouver- Our Wood Oven is landed directly from Naples, as it is our whole family! Come and try our pizza, we're waiting for you!

7piliers

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Happy Healthy Tash

Healthy Food and Lifestyle Blog

Emmy's Wellness

Vegan and GF recipes

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Bunny Eats Design

Happy things, tasty food and good design

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Travelling with Lyn

My experiences in Italy and the world

pinkiebag

A blog all about my love of cups of tea and dairy free food

Something Clean Something Green

One young man's adventure in cooking clean and green. New recipes every Sunday! Winner of 'Best Food & Drink Blog' - North East Blogger Awards 2015

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

Being Boyle

News & Brews

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

Yummy Vitality

Where health is wealth, and compassion is always in fashion.

FishinFoodie

All things edible (and mostly gluten free)

